Monday, April 01, 2013

Monday Mystery - Mystery/Thriller Awards

Agatha Awards

Anthony Awards
  • The Anthony Awards are given at each annual Bouchercon World Mystery Convention with the winners selected by attendees. The award is named for the late Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White), well-known writer and critic from the San Francisco Chronicle and New York Times, who helped found the Mystery Writers of America.

Arthur Ellis Awards

Barry Awards
  • The Barry Awards, voted on by the readers of Deadly Pleasures, are presented at the annual Bouchercon World Mystery Convention. The awards began in 1997 and are named in honor of Barry Gardner, well-known fan reviewer.

Dagger Awards
  • The Dagger Awards were founded by The Crime Writer’ Association in 1956 and celebrate the very best in crime and thriller writing.

Dilys Award
  • The Dilys Award is given annually by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association to the mystery titles of the year that the member booksellers have most enjoyed selling.

Edgar Awards
  • Mystery Writers of America give these awards to honor the best in mystery fiction and nonfiction produced the previous year. (We list only the fiction awards.) The awards began in 1946 and are named in honor of Edgar Allan Poe.

Hammett Prize
  • The Hammett Prize is given annually by the North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers to honor literary excellence in the field of crime-writing published in the English language in the US and/or Canada.

Hillerman Prize

Left Coast Crime Awards
  • The Lefty Award is given annually to the most humorous mystery. It is voted on by Left Coast Crime attendees. The Bruce Alexander Memorial Mystery Award (for historical mysteries) is also presented at Left Coast Crime. Two other 2013 awards are the Rocky Award (for mysteries set in the LCC area) and the Watson Award (for mysteries with the best sidekick).

Macavity Awards
  • The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries.

Ned Kelly Awards
  • The Ned Kelly Awards (named for a notorious Australian outlaw of the 19th century) are presented by the Crime Writers’ Association of Australia (CWAA) to recognize and promote excellence in Australian crime writing.

Nero Award 

Shamus Awards

Thriller Awards


Stephanie said...

Wow, what a list. I've got to begin going through this and make a list of TBR. Thanks.

Paty Jager said...

Glad you can use this list!

bn100 said...

That's a lot of awards

bn100candg at hotmail dot com

Paty Jager said...

Yes, and just for Mystery/Thrillers.